ERC Updates

Opens Rugby 7’s South Coast Invitational

Edmund Rice College enthusiastically participated in the Illawarra Secondary School 7s held at JJ Kelly Park on Wednesday,  18 October. The tournament comprised two pools, each consisting of five teams. The winners of each pool contended for the ultimate first-place title on the event day. The team commenced with a robust victory against Kiama High School in their opening match, triumphing with a score of 26-7. Notably, Chase Grant led the charge with an impressive hat-trick, supported by Daniel Meafou’s additional try and a commendable defensive performance that effectively thwarted Kiama’s attacking opportunities. In the subsequent match against Keira High School, ERC asserted dominance, concluding the game with a commanding 52-12 win.

The last pool game against Figtree High School witnessed an initial 12-0 lead by Figtree, but Edmund Rice College’s blend of strength, skill, and resilience facilitated a remarkable turnaround, culminating in a 52-12 victory. Key players such as Letham Manago, Ruben Mayers, Digby Woods, and Otis Cartwright exhibited exceptional performances in the forward positions. In the backs, Captain Kai Miller’s prowess in both defence and attack shone through, as he secured a brace of tries. Other notable scorers included Chad O’Brien, Chase Grant (2), and Daniel Meafou (2).

Emerging at the top of the ladder after the pool stage, Edmund Rice College advanced to face Holy Spirit in the Final. A swift scoring rhythm was established early on, with Chase Grant showcasing unmatched pace, crossing the try line twice in the initial stages. Captain Kai Miller further extended ERC’s lead. The game culminated in a convincing 32-5 victory, with Ruben Mayers, Chad O’Brien, and Harry Edgerton contributing additional tries, underscoring the team’s impressive teamwork and coordination.

Team List: Otis Cartwright, Lachlan Eastley, Harry Egerton, Khye Forrester, Chase Grant, Jesse Lanyon, Letham Manago, Ruben Mayers, Daniel Meafou, Mikaere Miller, Chad O’Brien, Nicholas Toparis-Penning, Leonardo Valentinetti, Digby Woods Coach: Mr Power

Mr Timpano
Sports Coordinator